Subsection 1.-Newfoundland

The Government of Newfoundland consists of a Lieutenant-Governor, an Executive Council and a Legislative Assembly. At Sept. 1, 1958, the Honourable Campbell Macpherson was Lieutenant-Governor of the Province. He was commissioned on Dec. 16, 1957.

The Legislative Assembly has 36 members elected for a term of five years. The Legislature elected Oct. 2, 1956, is the 31st in the history of Newfoundland and the 3rd since Confederation.

The Premier receives a salary of \$10,000 and the other Cabinet Ministers \$9,000 per annum plus a sessional indemnity of \$3,333.33. Each member of the House of Assembly receives a sessional indemnity of \$3,333.33 plus travelling and expense allowance of \$1,666.66. An additional allowance of \$3,000 is made to the Leader of the Opposition.

14.—Legislatures of Newfoundland since Confederation and Ministry as at Sept. 1, 1958

Date of	Legislature	Number	Date of	Date of
Election		of Sessions	First Opening	Dissolution
May 27, 1949 Nov. 26, 1951 Oct. 2, 1956	lst 2nd 3rd	4 7	July 13, 1949 Mar. 12, 1952 Mar. 20, 1957	Nov. 3, 1951 Sept. 10, 1956

Legislatures 1949-58

¹ Life of Legislature not expired at Sept. 1, 1958.

First Ministry

(Party standing at latest General Election, Oct. 2, 1956: 32 Liberals and 4 Progressive Conservatives.)

Note.-Date of appointment does not necessarily mean that the Minister was sworn in on date given.

Office	Name	Date of First Appointment	Date of Present Appointment
Premier and Minister of Economic Develop- ment. Attorney General. Minister of Mines and Resources. Minister of Labour. Minister of Eublic Welfare. Minister of Finance. Minister of Finance. Minister of Education. Minister without Portfolio. Minister of Provincial Affairs Solicitor General. Minister of Highways. Minister of Fisheries. Minister of Municipal Affairs and Supply. Minister of Health.	Hon. J. R. SMALLWOOD Hon. L. R. CURTIS Hon. W. J. KEOUGH Hon. C. H. BALLAM Hon. S. J. HEFFERTON Hon. J. S. SPENCER Hon. F. W. ROWE Hon. F. W. ROWE Hon. MYLES P. MURRAY Hon. MYLES P. MURRAY Hon. G. J. POWER Hon. J. T. CHEESEMAN Hon. J. T. CHEESEMAN Hon. J. M. MCGRATH	Apr. 1, 1949 July 29, 1949 Apr. 4, 1950 July 29, 1949 July 29, 1949 July 29, 1949 Apr. 4, 1950 May 21, 1952 Dec. 15, 1951 May 1, 1957	Apr. 1, 1949 Apr. 1, 1949 May 1, 1957 Apr. 4, 1950 Apr. 10, 1955 May 1, 1957 May 1, 1957 May 1, 1957 Dec. 15, 1951 Dec. 15, 1951 Dec. 15, 1951 Apr. 10, 1955 May 1, 1957 May 1, 1957

Subsection 2.--Prince Edward Island

The Government of Prince Edward Island consists of a Lieutenant-Governor, an Executive Council and a Legislative Assembly. The Honourable F. Walter Hyndman, Lieutenant-Governor of the Province at Sept. 1, 1958, was commissioned to office on Mar. 31, 1958. Lieutenant-Governors since Confederation are cited in the 1951 Year Book, p. 86, and the 1957-58 edition, p. 62.

The General Assembly elected May 25, 1955, is the 48th in the history of Prince Edward Island Legislatures and the 23rd since Confederation. It has 30 members from 15 electoral districts who serve for a statutory term of five years. One-half of the Members